Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

April 29, 2013

Just for Fun

Filed under: curiosities, Non Birds — richditch @ 7:05 pm
Five Window Coupe

Five Window Coupe

I’ve had a fondness for old cars since I was a young kid back in Pennsylvania, even though there weren’t  many to see in our little town far away from anything. Ending up in Phoenix, AZ, so many years later has given me a chance to see lots of old cars on the roads. I guess that’s one of the few benefits to this very dry climate where cars don’t rust away.

1950 Ford

1950 Ford

I like to keep a camera handy wherever I drive and I use it whenever possible to grab a record shot. These don’t tend to be well composed, but at least the auto exposure and auto focus systems in my Nikons assure I’ll get something from the effort.

I keep a body behind the seat, usually with my 18-70 zoom mounted, although at times I’ve tried the cheap light plastic 55-200 or even my ancient 50/1.8 lens. The ISO is set to 400, or rarely to 800, and the camera is always in aperture preferred auto exposure mode. And with the wide angle zoom I can sometimes just point the camera in the general direction of my observation for fire the sutter.

Chevy Truck

Chevy Truck

A lot of the shots I take are of cars sitting in parking lots where I find them, like this Chevy panel van. I’ll stop my car nearby and open the window for a clear shot, or sometimes get out with my camera and walk around for a better angle.

1930 Ford

1930 Ford

Backgrounds are almost always less than ideal, but my real interest is with the car.

Studebaker

Studebaker

At other times I’ll shoot from the driver’s seat while stopped at a light, as with this 50’s Studebaker that surprised me coming around the corner. I wish I had the 18-70 mounted for this instead of the 55-200 that I wasn’t quick enough to zoom for a better frame.

Chevy Coupe

Chevy Coupe

This Chevy Coupe was caught exiting the freeway while I waited for the light. Since it was white already I decided to go monochrome with my image.

Ford Pickup

Ford Pickup

One of the most popular vehicles I see is a 50’s era Ford pickup like the one above.

1957 Chevy Pickup

1957 Chevy Pickup

Chevy pickups seem to be a bit more rare.

I’ll post another batch here soon.

 

 

 

2 Comments »

  1. I adore old cars and trucks, this is a wonderful post Rich!

    Comment by Mia McPherson — May 19, 2013 @ 2:41 pm

  2. Beautiful trucks!

    Comment by lostlenscap — June 21, 2013 @ 12:43 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

