Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

September 25, 2012

Bert & Ernie

Filed under: Cats, digital benefits, light, Non Birds — richditch @ 4:57 pm
Bert & Ernie

Bert & Ernie

Nikon D300, Nikkor 50/1.8, ISO 1600, 1/160th second at f/2, hand held

Just a quick post that I couldn’t resist shooting this morning and sharing on the blog.

A sure way to get an interaction between two carts is to do something for only one of them. When Ernie was taking a rest on the bed following a second or third breakfast I tossed a shirt over him. And that, of course, meant that Bert wanted the shirt for himself and came up on the bed to investigate.

I quickly grabbed a camera and swapped the 18-70 for the faster 50/1.8 that doesn’t get a lot of use. I also had to crank up the ISO to 1600 so I could shoot hand held in the existing light in the bedroom.

I never would have gotten this shot in the old days of film. In fact, I never would have even tried to capture this. Using ISO 400 color print film for this would have put me down two stops of shutter speed – just too slow for my needs and the motion of the cats. And I definitely wouldn’t have taken  40-50 frames so I could select the sharpest and best image from the set. And even if I did I would have to wait for the film to be processed before I could see the results.

1 Comment »

  1. Way to cool, wonderful shot Rich, really like the look Ernie is giving.

    Comment by Jim — October 4, 2012 @ 8:29 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

