Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

September 11, 2012

Indoor cat, indoor photos

Filed under: Cats, digital benefits, Non Birds — richditch @ 1:47 pm
Ernie

Ernie

Nikon D300, Nikkor 50/1.8 AF lens, ISO 1600, 1/15th second at f/5.6, handheld

Yes, more photos from inside while I wait for lower temperatures outside. And what better subject than Ernie, one of our two indoor-only cats? Although the same age Ernie is much smaller than his brother Bert. He is also a more nervous and shy cat than Bert. But he makes up for it with personality, and is always the one who starts any trouble in the house.

These images were taken on September 8 when Ernie was getting a lot of attention from my wife Carol. In this shot Carol had draped a shirt across Ernie as he “helped” with the laundry on the bed. I grabbed a camera and my fastest lens (an early model AF lens that I bought used in 1994), and cranked the ISO up to 1600 hoping to avoid the need for flash.

With these spontaneous opportunities I accept the setting I have to work with and put up with a less than ideal background (if this was a pre-planned shoot I’d make sure there were no background distractions like the chest of drawers seen here).

I was pleased with this sequence I captured when Ernie carried on a conversation with Carol so I decided to assemble a triptych for three of the frames. (Hint: this allowed me to include an image with missed focus that I would never use alone).

Ernie triptych

Ernie triptych

Nikon D300, Nikkor 50/1.8 AF lens, ISO 1600, 1/60th second at f/2.8, handheld

 I was careful to keep all post processing three same for all three frames so they would look the same in terms of color and exposure. I also carefully cropped all three so they would show the same area.
As I indicated in the previous post, digital allowed me to shoot at ISO 1600 – two stops faster than I’d ever be able to do in the days of shooting film.

 

1 Comment »

  1. Beautiful stunning photo’s of your ragdolls… i have a female white and blue tip ragdoll… she is my baby!

    Comment by itsapussycatslife — September 12, 2012 @ 4:54 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

