Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

October 29, 2011

Color Still Needs Light

Filed under: comparisons, composition, light, Non Birds — richditch @ 4:11 pm
Nighthawk Building

Nighthawk Building

10/22/2011 2:10 pm, Nikon D200, Nikkor 18-70 @ 18mm, ISO 400, 1/500th second @ f/10

I rarely take a photo just because of bright colors, but sometimes I can’t help it.

Chandler, AZ, is one of the growing communities on the southeast side of metro Phoenix. It used to be based on agriculture, and still has areas that haven’t been overcome by suburban growth. It helps that Intel has a major presence in Chandler and likely contributes a lot to the local economy.

There’s a large Hispanic population in Chandler, and that means there are some very interesting combinations of bright colors used on buildings.

I took a different street to reach the main library a couple weeks ago and had to pull over for some shoots of this place. Even without the colors I probably would have taken a few shots just for the name. But it was definitely the colors that caught my eye.

Unfortunately it was still morning and this west-facing front was in shadow. I took what I could from the car window but knew it deserved a visit later in the day.

I made it back in the afternoon and found much better light, so I took more time. I parked the car and positioned myself for a more formal head-on view with my 18-70mm lens at 18mm on my Nikon D200. In Photoshop I corrected he pincushion distortion of this wide angle and cropped to clean up the edges and center the subject.

To show how important the light is to this shot here is the backlit version from the previous morning visit.

Nighthawk Building

Nighthawk Building

10/14/2011 10:56 am, Nikon D200, Nikkor 18-70 @ 29mm, ISO 400, 1/350th second @ f/10

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

