Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

June 15, 2011

Wilson’s Warbler series

Filed under: Birds, Boyce Thompson Arboretum, favorite places — richditch @ 1:32 pm
Wilson's Warbler

Wilson's Warbler

As I’ve posted recently, Wilson’s Warbler has been the most abundant migrant warbler around central AZ this year. So I wasn’t surprised to find one still around when I visited Boyce Thompson Arboretum last week. I”d gone to play around with flash at a man made water feather that always attracts birds – it is situated so it seldom gets direct light but often has terrible backlight that causes a lot of lens flare.

My plan was to use my SB-800 flash as a wireless remote, and I’d confirmed its operation at home the day before. But in the field KI couldn’t get it to work properly, so I ended up devolving to shooting without flash. At ISO 800 I could manage 1/60th second at f/5.6, and that was just enough shutter speed to get acceptable sharpness for this series.

Wilson's Warbler

Wilson's Warbler

Nikon D300, 300/2.8 AF-S Nikkor with TC20E (2x), Gitzo 1325 tripod with RRS BH-55 ball head and sidekick, ISO 800, 1/60th second at f/5.6. These are cropped to about 62% of full frame.

Wilson's Warbler

Wilson's Warbler

After getting home I think I figured out my problem with the remote flash: the soft  brim of the hat I wear to shade my bald head and eyes pushed down slightly on the popup flash on the camera body, causing it to not fire and therefore not trigger the remote flash. I’ll try again and watch out for that isssue!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

