Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

June 5, 2011

Giant Swallowtail in the yard

Filed under: backyard, digital benefits, Non Birds — richditch @ 6:30 pm
Giant Swallowtail

Giant Swallowtail

We don’t have many flowering plants in our backyard that attract butterflies, but we see one or two passing through before moving on to better pickings. When they do show up they don’t pause long enough for photos, especially since I’d have to assemble the gear and get it outside to hopefully get close enough.

But on June 1, 2011, this Giant Swallowtail butterfly decided to spend a few minutes in the same area that was used by this White-winged Dove. This allowed me enough time to grab my Nikon D300 and swap the TC20E that normally is attached to the 300/2.8 lens and attach the TC14E 1.4x converter instead. Even with the one stop gain in brightness this gave me I still felt it was better to increase the ISO to 800 – something I wouldn’t have even considered with my D200. Even so I needed to shoot at 1/100th second wide open at f/4.

The noise level is not an issue for me here, and I was even able to crop significantly (this is only 50% of the full frame). Image quality is down a bit from shooting through the low quality window glass, and from insufficient depth of field at f/4.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

