Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

April 5, 2011

Random Subjects at Boyce Thompson Arboretum

Filed under: Boyce Thompson Arboretum, curiosities, entropy, favorite places, Non Birds — richditch @ 6:55 pm
Cactus on vertical wall

Cactus on vertical wall

Before a passion for birds overwhelmed my interests a lot of my photography was concentrated on the mundane sights of daily life. I always looked for strong graphics and interesting objects.

I still try to do some of that when I’m out looking for birds, but my ability to record some things I see is limited by the gear I happen to be carrying at the time.

I found the cactus in the top image interesting in the way it is growing on the side of this rock wall at Boyce Thompson Arboretum. It is visible from the main canyon trail where it becomes step switchbacks from Queen Creek up to Ayer Lake. Using my standard bird set-up of 300/2.8 and 2x on a Nikon D200 I composed to emphasize the vertical cracks in the rock wall. ISO 400, 1/1000th second at f/8, tripod.

Drover's Truck Exhibit

Drover's Truck Exhibit

The “drover’s shed” on the edge of the “Australian grove” is popular with many visitors to the park, so I finally broke down and took a few frames of the old Dodge Power Wagon that’s part of the display. The bent and rusty truck with the dangling plate fits my long time interest in things undergoing decay – what I’ve labeled here as entropy.

Taken 3/14/2011 (same day as the cactus above) with a Nikon D70 and 70-300 VR lens at 70mm, ISO 400, 1/50th second at f/5.6, hand held.

Lost hat

Lost hat

My final image from this morning at Boyce Thompson Arboretum was this Lost Hat perched on a fence post. Nikno D70, 70-300 VR @ 110mm, ISO 400, 1/100th second @ f.5.6.

1 Comment »

  1. Rich,

    I like all of the images, how well they are photographed and the comps you used. The Drover’s truck made me smile, I remember seeing old trucks like that back on the farm when I was just a little girl.

    Comment by Mia — April 7, 2011 @ 10:50 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

