Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

March 7, 2011

Patterns in Stone

Filed under: composition, light, Non Birds — richditch @ 3:13 pm
Stones

Stones

I’ve been remiss in posting lately – just too many responsibilities competing for my time. And Im way behind in editing and processing new photos.

But I knew I’d want to share a couple pattern photos I got on Friday while visiting the Japanese Friendship Garden in downtown Phoenix. We’d heard about this little known spot from a neighbor and had been trying to fit a visit into our schedule. I made a decision to get there before the weather got nasty hot here, especially when I discovered that they don’t open until the photography unfriendly hour of 10:00 am when the sun is way too high in the sky for much shooting.

You can read about the place on their web site and view typical photos from there as well (or just do a Google image search for lots more), so I won’t rush processing on any of those images I made on Friday.

What immediately caught my eye were a few small areas of smooth “river rocks” that had been used as decorative areas. I love the subtle colors and textures of these stones and the way the shadows brought out their form. It took a lot of time to arrange them as they are. What I really like is how these little arrangements combine the skill and planning of the person who laid them out with the randomness of the light and shadows and the needles and leaves that have accumulated under them from the surrounding trees.

Stones

Stones

Since my primary responsibility on this visit was assisting my wife get around in her wheelchair I had only minimal camera gear with me: my Nikon D200, plus Nikkor 18-70 and 55-200 mm lenses. I felt very strange without a tripod or my birding lens! With more time and gear I’d have taken these with a tripod so I could fine tune composition and assure corner-to-corner sharpness. But I’m happy enough with these to post them without any cropping.

Top image: 10:16 am, ISO 400, 1/400th second at f/10, 48mm. Bottom image: 10:48 am, ISO 400, 1/90th second at f/6.3, -1/3rd stop exposure compensation, 62mm.

1 Comment »

  1. Rich,

    I find both images very soothing, appealing and very nicely composed. It was nice just looking at then because I have been stressed a lot lately.

    Comment by Mia — March 7, 2011 @ 3:17 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

