Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

December 6, 2010

License to Bird

Filed under: Birds, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch, Non Birds — richditch @ 8:18 pm
TANAGER Vanity plate

TANAGER Vanity plate

Just thought I’d share the latest two plates that I’ve added to my collection of birding related vanity plates: TANAGER and XANTUS. Both are Arizona plates; both were “collected” at the Gilbert Water Ranch while chasing the Baikal Teal.

Whenever I’m at a popular birding location, and especially when an interesting rarity has been reported, I always check the parking lot for these plates. That was a lot easier to do when I lived in New Jersey and made frequent visits to Cape May and to Brigantine National Wildlife Refuge. There were always lots of birders around, and since the states in the mid Atlantic region are relatively small I would get to see plates from neighboring states on a regular basis. If there was a mega rarity around like the Whiskered Tern in Delaware or the Ross’ Gull in Maryland I could come home with a number of new plates for my collection. Here in AZ I don’t get to see as many, and the ones I see are rarely from other states.

XANTUS Vanity Plate

XANTUS Vanity Plate

I was happy to find two plates that I didn’t have in my collection on a single day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

