Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

November 19, 2010

Horned Lark follow up

Filed under: Birds, light, technique — richditch @ 9:09 pm
Horned Lark

Horned Lark

I found a bit more time to work on my sod farm images from last weekend and liked these two images from the many I shot. This is the same Horned Lark as shown in my previous post, taken from a monopod inside my car as I crept slowly along the dirt road beside the fields. I was lucky this this one lark didn’t fly away with the rest of the small flock it had been feeding with. I was lucky again when it posed for me on the small mound of dirt beside the trench running along the edge of the road. I like this view that shows the texture of the feathers on the back while still giving a good profile of the head. The light worked out well, giving me a natural catchlight in the eye and just enough direction to provide shadows that give the image depth.

Nikon D200, 300/2.8 AF-S plus TC20E (2x), ISO 400, 1/750th second @ f/11.-2/3rds exposure compensation.

Horned Lark

Horned Lark

I’m really pleased I got to see and photograph this brief moment when the Horned Lark fluffed out its feathers. I’ve seen many times with many other species, but this was the first time I’ve seen it done by a lark. It is very interesting to me to see that the feathers (or possibly the skin itself) beneath the visible feathers is black. I’ve seen this black underlayer on cardinals and Orange-crowned Warblers – if anyone knows more about this please comment so I can learn more.

Nikon D200, 300/2.8 AF-S plus TC20E (2x), ISO 400, 1/1250th second @ f/11.-2/3rds exposure compensation.

Both shots taken 11/13/2010.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

