Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

November 12, 2010

Back on Planet Earth

Filed under: Birds, comparisons, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch, light — richditch @ 9:28 pm
Song Sparrow

Song Sparrow

It was another busy week with too many other priorities, and I’d planned on sleeping in. But an email from a friend with a second hand report of a White-throated Sparrow seen with a flock of White-crowned Sparrows got me motivated, so I joined my friend at first light at the Gilbert Water Ranch to look for it. We put in three hours and never found the white-throat, but it didn’t seem to be much of disappointment for me as the temperature was a complete delight. After a too long summer season with a couple dozen days at 110 or above mixed in with the months of 100+ weather it felt great to start the day in the high 40’s. It made me feel like I was finally back on planet earth.

I managed a list of 50 species for the morning, and that was time spent in mostly a single area without a real effort to maximize the list for the day. We spent more time taking photos than chasing birds.

We favorite of the morning was this simple shot of a Song Sparrow that popped up directly in front of us, on a good perch against an attractive background, and in good light. As soon as I locked focus I got off a sequence of 6 or so frames and felt pretty sure I’d taken my best shot for the day.

Song Sparrow

Song Sparrow

Here’s an alternative from the sequence, with the sparrow in a slightly different position. I prefer the first image but also like the second.

Nikon D200, 300/2.8 AF-S with TC20E (2x), ISO 400, f/5.6.

1 Comment »

  1. The weather has been great, hasn’t it?

    These are lovely. Fantastic lighting. I keep meaning to get there at first light.

    Comment by Kimberly Hosey (Arizona Writer) — November 23, 2010 @ 6:11 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

