Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

October 7, 2010

Dove on a Stick

Filed under: Birds, composition, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch — richditch @ 7:36 pm
White-winged Dove

White-winged Dove

This White-winged Dove from the Gilbert Water Ranch is one of the very few images I’ve taken recently. I must be getting old as I find the triple digit summer temperatures just too much to deal with. Or maybe it is the lack of maintenance at the Water Ranch as the economy tries to recover from the excesses of the GWB years that has resulted in little water in the ponds and unmanaged hedges and other vegetation. Whatever the reasons, I’ve taken few to no photos on my last five visits to the Water Ranch, including a 90 minute hike there just yesterday. About the only good news is that the winter ducks are increasing in numbers, with many Northern Pintails and a few American Wigeons present yesterday. I had my first Yellow-rumped Warbler of the season there as well.

This natural perch is a favorite resting place for doves – I’ve seen Mourning and Eurasian Collared Doves on this same branch as well as White-winged. I think they are collectively responsible for the lack of bark on this horizontal section. The trick is to approach slowly enough that any perching bird stays put long enough to line up the bird with the background and get off a few frames. I find I always need more time when I shoot verticals as working the camera controls is just a bit more clumsy that way for me.

9/8/10, Nikon D200, Nikkor 300/2.8 AF-S lens plus TC20E (2x), Gitzo tripod, ISO 400, 1/80th second at f/5.6.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

