Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

June 25, 2010

More Burrowing Owl

Filed under: Birds — richditch @ 10:32 am
Burrowing Owl

Burrowing Owl

Time constraints and summer weather continue to keep my bird photography at lower levels than I prefer, and I’m even having trouble finding time to process the few images I’ve managed in the past few weeks.

But I did squeeze in some time to process a few more raw files from my visit with a pair of Burrowing Owls. This is obviously the same messy eater that I posted here on June 8. While I squatted watching this bird through the camera viewfinder I was treated to a brief preening display, followed by a quick bob at the end.

Burrowing Owl

Burrowing Owl

When presented with a cooperative subject it can pay to take time and wait for things to develop, rather than assuming you’ve got a “good enough” shot already and moving on looking for something else.

Since taking this series I’ve learned two interesting things from photographer friends:

  • there was a nasty swarm of Africanized “killer” bees encountered among the rocks not far to the left of where I took these images – my friend received some nasty stings and had to hide out in his car for some time before he was able to recover his camera gear that he abandoned for safety
  • a Mountain Lion has been seen repeatedly over the past coupled of weeks about one mile east of this spot

Just a couple of things for me to think about before I make a return visit.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

