Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

January 26, 2010

Vermilion Flycatcher juvenile male

Filed under: Birds, composition, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch, light, style — richditch @ 8:16 pm
Vermilion Flycatcher juvenile male

Vermilion Flycatcher juvenile male

I don’t usually rush images through processing, and I seldom post anything the day I shoot it. But I got lucky this afternoon and I thought I’d share the results.

I hadn’t been out to shoot for almost a week, and I really needed some time with the birds to balance some other stresses in my life. So I made an afternoon visit to my default location – the Water Ranch in Gilbert, AZ. I usually visit in early morning, but afternoons can be productive as well, and the change in light direction makes another part of the preserve worth visiting. There have been two Vermilion Flycatchers in this area – one full adult with the brilliant plumage; and this juvenile male with patches of color on gray. My portfolio has some good stuff on adults (use the search field to find some on this blog), but nothing on the immature birds.

This bird has been hanging around the SW corner of the Water Ranch, and has become more comfortable with people nearby. A friend and I watched and waited near some favorite perches with the light in our favor, and it didn’t take long for this bird to stat visiting them. I got really lucky, though, when he landed on a different branch closer to my position and I got a few frames before he moved on again.

Some may find the flycatcher is too centered in the frame here, but I loved the line of the branch. Also, I didn’t want to cut across the smaller twig projecting to the right and upward from the back of the bird, and that required including a bit more room on the right than I normally would have. I love this setting and the soft colors behind the flycatcher. I like the position of the bird as well. And if you look closely you can see a strand of spiderweb in from of the bird.

Jan 26, 2010, 4:20 pm, Nikon D200, 300/2.8 plus TC20E, ISO 400, 1/160th second at f/7.1, Gitzo tripod.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

