Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

January 22, 2010

Phoenix Street Art

Filed under: curiosities, Non Birds — richditch @ 7:44 pm
Phoenix Street Art

Phoenix Street Art

Although I’m primarily a bird photographer these days, I still find lots of other stuff interesting and worthy of recording. And its not just nature subjects that catch my eye.

While driving in central Phoenix a couple days ago (between waves of our ongoing rain storms) I was fortunate enough to notice this wonderful mural painted on a cinder block wall not far from Interstate 10. I was able to get across traffic and park nearby for a closer look, and I grabbed my “point and shoot” Nikon D70 with 18-70 “kit” lens from the back seat when I got out. It was well worth the stop and photos.

The 18-70 zoom isn’t the best lens for keeping lines straight, but I did my best by using a focal length in the middle of the range and by trying to position myself at the center of the panel and parallel to it. No matter how silly I probably looked to the cars passing by behind me.

Phoenix Street Art Detail

Phoenix Street Art Detail

My lines were pretty good but still needed a little tweaking in photoshop – I really like the transform capability for correcting images such as this that look best properly squared off.

There are a number of panels in this mural and I photographed about half of them on this initial stop. I’ll try to get back this weekend for the rest of them. Assuming, of course, that our rains are over for a while.

Mural by Maggie Keane

Mural by Maggie Keane

1 Comment »

  1. Rich

    That is really a delightful mural and a great image. Thank you for stopping to take the photos to share with us.

    Comment by Mia — January 22, 2010 @ 9:04 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

