Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

January 20, 2010

Resting Wigeon Pair

Filed under: Birds, composition, favorite places, light, Sweetwater — richditch @ 11:10 pm
American Wigeon pair at rest

American Wigeon pair at rest

Since my trip to Sweetwater in Tucson a couple weeks ago was primarily to look for the unusual Vermilion Flycatcher that I never got to see, I didn’t spend much time away from the artificial stream by the entrance where I got all the recently posted shots.

But I did make one quick trip to a couple of the ponds, and I’m glad I did. This pair of American Wigeon were resting in perfect morning light and I couldn’t resist a few shots to show this lovely habitat and reflection. I don’t often work with the sun over my shoulder, but it was the perfect light for this situation. I find two aspects of this species can cause trouble for photographers. One is the brightness of the white plumage at the rump and in the wing patch, and the best way to deal with that is to work in the softest light you can. The other is the eye – the face of the wigeon “puffs out” around the eye, and it is difficult getting a good catchlight. The light this morning shown directly into the eye and there was no problem with the recess.

Jan 9, 2010, Nikon D200, 300/2,8 plus TC20E, ISO 400, 1/1000th second at f/5.6, -1/3rd stop exposure compensation.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

