Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

October 7, 2009

More Vermilion Flycatcher Images

Filed under: Birds, composition, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch, light, technique — richditch @ 4:18 pm
Vermilion Flycatcher

Vermilion Flycatcher

The Vermilion Flycatcher continues at the Gilbert Water Ranch, at least as of the afternoon of October 6, 2009, when I stopped by to check on it. Although I took a few more shots I haven’t transfered any of them to the computer yet: this images are all from the previous visit on October 2. That was such a fun and productive session that I’m still processing images and wanted to share a few more of them here.

I find exposure for red birds like cardinals and tanagers and this flycatcher to be difficult – it is extremely easy to over expose the red channel on digital cameras and burn out the detail in the brighter areas. Even in soft late day light as I had her I was careful to use the spot meter in the Nikon D200 and set the exposure compensation to -1/3rd stop to keep the reds under control.

Vermilion Flycatcher

Vermilion Flycatcher

As I’ve written here many times before I try to get a variety of images from any encounter. It would be foolish to not take advantage of an opportunity such as this since one never knows when another cooperative bird will be encountered.

This second image shows the flycatcher it a different pose, and on a different post. The framing isn’t as tight, either, so this image could be used more easily for text overlay in an article. I like how the image shows the color on the underside of the folded wings.

Vermilion Flycatcher

Vermilion Flycatcher

Completing today’s set of shots is an unusual body position with the flycatcher looking up and ready to launch after some insect. Instead of a post the bird is sitting on a rail; the tan background is out of focus sand behind the bird. In addition to the unusual pose I like the good view of the rictal bristles.

1 Comment »

  1. Wow – gorgeous picture (and subject matter). I haven’t been out to the BTA or the Water Ranch yet this fall, but it is calling to me!! This gives me even more inspiration. Thanks for sharing, Rich!

    Comment by Robin McEntire — October 13, 2009 @ 10:31 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

