Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

August 9, 2009

Farther Back Memory Lane

Filed under: composition, favorite places, Film, light, Non Birds, style — richditch @ 4:10 pm
Otter Cove, Acadia National Park

Otter Cove, Acadia National Park

My previous post discussed the way photographs provide windows to our past, and how an image can take us back to another time and place. I thought I’d follow up with a shot from a point much farther back in time and from the other side of North America.

It was June 1978 and we’d been living in New Jersey long enough to start thinking of seeing other places within driving distance. We decided to make the 550+ mile drive to Acadia National Park in Maine for our first real view of the New England coast. We made it more tolerable by stopping overnight somewhere in MA. Life seemed much simpler in those days so everything we needed for the trip fit in the back of our small Opel Sportwagon, with 1900cc engine, 4 speed manual transmission, a crummy one speaker radio and no AC.

We went early enough in the year that the family groups hadn’t arrived yet, and it felt like we had much of the park to ourselves much of the time. We enjoyed the park slowly and made repeated circuits around the closed park loop road.

My favorite image from the visit is this shot of Otter Cove, taken late in the day. I can’t recall what lens was used for this, but my spreadsheet of equipment serial numbers shows my cameras at the time were a Nikkormat EL and a Nikon ELW, and my set of Nikkor lenses was: 20/4, 24/2.8, 28/3.5, 55/3.5 macro, 105/2.5, 200/4, and 300/4.5. Film in those days was always Kodachrome 64.

This is a simple composition, relying on understated colors, strong shapes, and a good reflection. The low light of impending darkness is a big factor in the overall mood of the image.

Every time I look at this image I’m taken right back to those peaceful simple times. And I also remember how much fun the Opel was to drive and how comfortable the front seats were!

1 Comment »

  1. This; and your last images made me smile Rich. I have images that bring me back to some very happy parts of my past too and you reminded me of that with these.

    Comment by Mia — August 9, 2009 @ 4:40 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

