Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

June 2, 2009

Lily – light and line

Filed under: composition, digital benefits, light, Non Birds, style — richditch @ 8:25 pm
Lily on red

Lily on red

Here’s a quick post of a shot that mostly “just fooling around” as the camera store ads from “Honest Abe” used to read. (Actually, I think they said “no foolin’ around”)

I got to thinking about higher ISO settings again, and how I had become comfortable with the Nikon D200 at ISO 800. And I wondered what the older 6MP D70 would do at ISO 800.

So I placed some lilies on the counter and half heartedly lined them up with a brick red cabinet in the far background. The D70 was “wearing” the inexpensive 55-200 “plastic” lens, and at 165mm I was able to get a decent composition from the tripod.

With the ambient light and ISO 800 my shutter speed read 1/4th second at f/7.1.

I’m quite happy with the performance at ISO 800 – noise isn’t really a problem here. I wish I”d been more careful with the alignment as the cabinet wasn’t quite wide enough and I ended up with some unwanted brightness on the left edge.

As far a style/composition goes, this is basically a study in color, lines, and light. I like the strong graphics of the simple lines, and I like the backlight for the way it defines the shape and texture of the lily.

Now, if someone would only buy me more flowers I’d be more careful next time!

1 Comment »

  1. so beautiful, simple and elegante…
    Great pictures.
    Love and light
    solange

    Comment by solange — June 5, 2009 @ 9:24 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

