Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

May 23, 2009

Deja Vu, all over again

Filed under: comparisons, composition, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch, light, Non Birds — richditch @ 7:00 pm
Sunflower

Sunflower

Look familiar? Yes, this is the same sunflower from yesterday’s post but taken from a slightly different angle not long after taking yesterday’s image. I passed on this one yesterday thinking that this one wouldn’t be as nice since it shows the back side of the flower – in essence the subject is “looking away” from the viewer. I know how unpopular that aspect can be for bird photographers, so I expect it will transfer to non bird subjects as well for many people.

But this shot has nice graphics of its own, and if I didn’t have the other view I’d be very happy with this one. I like the cluster of green on the underside of the yellow here. But I especially like the separation of the stems of the two extra flower heads, the way the light shapes the tops, and the clean lines of the two stems.

So, I came away with two successful images where I hadn’t been expecting any.

Same specs as yesterday: Nikon D200, 300/2.8 plus 2x, ISO 200, 1/250th second at f/9, a kiss of fill flash, Gilbert Water Ranch, 5/22/09.

Blog at WordPress.com.