Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

May 20, 2009

Too many textures?

Filed under: Birds, Boyce Thompson Arboretum, favorite places — richditch @ 6:13 pm
Inca Dove

Inca Dove

For those following my blog who’ve expressed privately that my recent birds on the rocks series hasn’t really been all that appealing, here’s what will likely be the last shot from that location (at least for now). And this image doesn’t show the bird against the rocks, but on one instead.

This Inca Dove came in to the area I was working at the seep at Boyce Thompson Arboretum on May 15, and I was happy to get a shot of it before it flew off. My experience for the most part with these attractive unassuming little doves is that they are very camera shy, so although I see them all the time I seldom fid any that will sit long enough for a photo.

I had my D200 set to ISO 800 for the shaded areas on the side of the cliff where the seep is located, but even with this bird away from the cliff I still could only get 1/90th second at f/8. I wanted a little more depth of field here for the rock and the grasses behind the dove: when the subject and background are close it isn’t possible to open the lens wide enough to blur the background like many people prefer. So, I’d rather show the background in focus enough to keep it from being on the annoying edge of sharp/blurred.

Although I find many aspects of this image pleasing, I”m still left with a suspicion that there are just too many conflicting textures to make it really pleasing. There’s the scaled feathers of the dove, the blocks of lichen on the angular rock, and the crossing lines of light and dark grass and dark sticks.

Let me know what you think.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

