Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

May 7, 2009

Just Catching Up

Filed under: Birds, Boyce Thompson Arboretum, favorite places, Non Birds — richditch @ 1:13 pm

There was a flurry of other things that needed my immediate attention over the last few days, and as a result I’ve had to neglect this blog and other internet diversions. I’ve also not been able to get out for new photos, nor even process a bunch of raw files in the queue. So, here are some shots from a week or so ago at the Boyce Thompson Arboretum near Superior, AZ.

Greater Earless Lizard

Greater Earless Lizard

I’d thought I’d head this post with a Greater Earless Lizard for a change. As a birder I send more time looking up than looking down, but I’m always interested in any type of wildlife that I encounter. It has taken me some time to learn some of these lizards, but a new book covering Amphibians and Reptiles of Arizona (Thomas Brennan & Andrew Holycross)  has been a big help. It is available at the Boyce gift shop, or directly from the Arizona Game and Fish web site.

Usually they make a quick dash across the trail in front of me and disappear into the bushes, but this one decided to stop in a sunbeam on a great background for some photos. It even waited for me while I got the 55-200 on the camera and left the 300 and 2x on the tripod.

Lesser Goldfinch

Lesser Goldfinch

Here’s another Lesser Goldfinch, photographed on a small branch in front of a rock face off the Magma Trail. I like the muted colors here, especially of this female goldfinch, plus the viewing angle that let’s us se more of the underside.

Finally, here’s a shot that speaks for itself, left over from my Sign Language post a while ago.

Important Bird Area

Important Bird Area

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

