Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

April 27, 2009

Sign Language

Lately I’ve found myself taking photos of signs. I don’t know why; it just seems that I’m noticing more signs that I want to “collect.” Maybe its the combination of being curious, paying attention to what’s around, and trying to have a general purpose lens handy when I’m driving about and when I’m walking with my bird gear. Or, maybe I’m just a bit weird.

Boyce Thompson Arboretum Whiteboard

Boyce Thompson Arboretum Whiteboard

All visitors to Boyce Thompson Arboretum walk past this large whiteboard as they leave the visitor center and head to the trails. It is used to advertise guided walks, plant sales, and other events coming up at the Arboretum. Usually there’s also a list of interesting recent sightings: birds, butterflies, lizards, blooms, whatever. I take a quick glance each time to see what’s new and then get on about my business.

But on my most recent visit I had to get a shot of the board. Somebody put a lot of effort into this display and came up with a very eye-catching layout.

Gilbert Water Ranch Birds Sign

Gilbert Water Ranch Birds Sign

There are a few interpretive signs located along some of the paths at the Water Ranch in Gilbert, AZ, including this one listing some of the passerine birds that can be sen there at various times of the year. But its too bad there are three obvious errors on this, and I wonder just who had final review duties before this sign was produced. The errors:

  • the “ed” is missing from Red-wingED Blackbird
  • Abert’s Towhee has been mis-spelled (not ALbert’s Towhee)
  • the image ilustrating the White-crowned Sparrow is actually of a White-throated Sparrow
Tribal lands sign board

Tribal lands sign board

Sometimes I just drive around with no particular destination in mind, mostly just to see what might be there. I came upon this community bulletin board right along a main road on the nearby tribal lands. It was a big surprise that people would put paper signs up on a board along the road like this, but when I thought about it I realized I was thinking like someone from another part of the country where there’s rain or snow to worry about – not a problem here in the dry desert most of the time.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

