Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

April 11, 2009

Boyce Birdwalk

Filed under: Birds, Boyce Thompson Arboretum, favorite places, Non Birds — richditch @ 4:30 pm
Northern Cardinal - Boyce Thompson Arboretum

Northern Cardinal - Boyce Thompson Arboretum

This is a shameless plug for a birdwalk I’ll be leading on Easter Sunday, April 12, 2009, at one of my favorite places: Boyce Thompson Arboretum near Superior, AZ. The walk is scheduled to begin at 8:30 AM from the Visitor Center and is expected to last 2-3 hours depending on what we see. The walk is free, but admission to BTA has a standard fee (unless you are already a member). We typically walk a couple miles along the main loop trail and in the Demo Garden in order to cover as many habitat types as possible and maximize the species we see and hear.

Given the day I don’t expect a big turnout, but I’ve been surprised before. If turnout is very small I’ll consider dragging along my camera and bird lens, but don’t count on that.

I consider Boyce to be the best place in central AZ to see the Northern Cardinal which is always a crowd favorite no matter how common it is.

If you have family members less interested in birds (or walking) than you are they can hang out at the Demo Garden or set up a picnic so it will be ready for your return.

Boyce Thompson Arboretum Demo Garden

Boyce Thompson Arboretum Demo Garden

And if you come on the walk as a result of reading about it here be sure to tell me!

1 Comment »

  1. Rich

    I sure wish I could join you for your bird walk tomorrow, I know that you would be an excellent guide.

    I’ll be out photographing in the morning, but it sure won’t be the species I could see there!

    Comment by Mia — April 11, 2009 @ 4:47 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

