Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

April 9, 2009

Verdin on the move

Filed under: behavior, Birds, composition, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch — richditch @ 10:51 am
Verdin bringing food to nest

Verdin bringing food to nest

Nesting activity is well advanced around Phoenix at the moment. We’ve got Curve-billed Thrashers actively feeding newly fledged young in the back yard, and unfortunately a pair of loathsome starlings have commandeered a nest cavity in the large Saguaro by the neighbor’s house.

At the Water Ranch in Gilbert, AZ, the Verdins have been hyper in their feeding activity along all the trails. This adult was bringing various food items to a nearby nest as I walked the main path on Sunday morning (4/05/09) on my way out for the day. I watched the bird come in, pausing briefly on this convenient branch before entering the nest. And a fellow photographer just emailed me that their are young Verdins “all over” at the moment and encouraged me to get out soon.

I wasn’t as close as I’d liked to have been here, but I don’t like to pressure birds feeding young. I had to crop this about 50%, and when I did I kept the Verdin in the upper right “power point” to enhance the tension of the pose. This bird is obviously in transit and ready to move off this branch and get on about its business of feeding its young.

Nikon D200, AF-S 300/2.8 with TC20E (2x), ISO 200, 1/200th at f/8.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

