Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

March 3, 2009

Not so lucky or not so prepared

Filed under: Birds, composition, favorite places, Gilbert Water Ranch, light, style — richditch @ 7:10 pm
Snowy Egret

Snowy Egret

Yesterday’s post talked about the ultimate payoff when preparation and luck come together to yield one of the magic images where everything worked out perfectly. So I thought I’d give equal time to a recent session where I was lucky but not prepared, or maybe not lucky enough to be prepared.

While spending time at the Gilbert Water Ranch with the cooperative Sora I got to photograph many other birds that were in the area, like this Mallard. Another bird that came in close was this Snowy Egret. I seldom nave the close approaches I get with the much larger Great Egret, so this was more thrilling than a common bird ought normally to be. It was a stroke of luck to have the snowy ignore my presence and come so close, but it was rather unlucky for me to not have a short enough lens to frame the entire egret the way I wanted. I had already taken off the 2x converter from my 300/2.8 lens for the Sora, so I framed as best I could to feature the head and beak and the lovely bit of yellow that gives the image some life. At least my luck held to give me a dark background behind the head while still showing some blue to provide the water setting.

This composition is a bit different fro me, but it still seems to work. The center of interest here is definitely the face, which is more centered than “the rules” would dictate.

Taken 02/17/09 with Nikon D200, 300/2.8 AF-S lens, Gitzo 1325 tripod, ISO 320, 1/2500th second at f/4, matrix meter at -2/3rd ev compensation.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

