Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

February 24, 2009

A Walk in the Park

Boyce Thompson Arboretum Trail View

Boyce Thompson Arboretum Trail View

As I wrote in a previous post I’m not well equipped for scenic shots when I’m out with my bird photography gear, but on this recent hike at Boyce Thompson Arboretum I at least had brought along the modest 18-70 “kit” lens to give me more options than the 300 with 1.4x and 2x converters allows.

I’ve always enjoyed this spot on he main trail: after a gradual climb beyond Ayer’s Lake the trail passes through a saddle and begins a steep decent via switchbacks. At this point there’s a wonderful view of the canyon ahead as the switchbacks lead down to Queen Creek at the base of Picket Post Mountain in the background. The cottonwood trees along the creek catch the light and provide an interesting color counterpoint to the rugged brown rocks.

This view deserves more time and care than I gave it here. I could probably find a better time of day to get more even tone in the sky (I’ve tried blocking out the bright sun with the shoulder of the large rock on the left edge of the frame). And I could do a better job of leveling the camera and keeping the pagoda on the right side level. But I like the depth of this image that comes from the wide angle lens, the strong directional light, the receding size of the boulders, and the invitation of the trail to keep walking into the scene.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

