Rich Ditch's Photography Blog

August 10, 2011

Ornate Tree Lizard

Filed under: Boyce Thompson Arboretum, curiosities, favorite places, Non Birds — richditch @ 10:36 am
Ornate Tree Lizard

Ornate Tree Lizard

It is still way too hot in central Arizona for me to enjoy getting out in search of new avian subjects, or for much else for that matter. Checking my notes I see I only got out 4 times in June,  only twice in July, and not at all yet in August. Five of those outings were to Boyce Thompson Arboretum where the trees and slight increase in elevation provide slightly lower temps than here in Phoenix.

On my visit to BTA on July 7 I spent most of my time by the tiny artificial “waterfall” hoping for some shots of birds enjoying the water. I didn’t have much success with the birds. But I always try to find something of interest, and Arizona’s abundant lizards have always caught my eye.

The Ornate Tree Lizard is common and widely distributed here. With their cryptic markings and colr they are asy to overlook, and I suspect many people miss them completely or have never bothered to look closely at them. This lizard was easy to see and hard to pass up when it paused to soak up some of the excessive heat on the base of a nearby tree.

Nikon D300, Nikkor AF-S 300/2.8 plus TC20E (2x), ISO 800, 1/320th second at f/8, Gitzo 1325 tripod with RRS BH-55 ball head and Sidekick.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Theme: Silver is the New Black. Get a free blog at WordPress.com

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

